Release Date: 26 March 2020 Media release

Joint Media Release
The Hon. Greg Hunt MP
The Hon Ken Wyatt AM, MP

The Australian Government is working in close collaboration with State and Territory Governments to help save Australian lives by stopping the spread of COVID-19.

Following agreement from the National Cabinet, the movement into certain remote areas is being restricted to protect some of our most vulnerable Australians.

From 11:59pm Thursday 26 March 2020, anyone wishing to enter designated areas will need to self-isolate for 14 days before they can enter. This is a requirement that will be made by the Minister for Health under the Commonwealth’s Biosecurity Act 2015 and includes residents of communities in these areas.

The areas where restrictions apply will be communicated by the State and Territory Governments prior to commencement.

Governments will support people who do not have appropriate alternate arrangements to self-isolate.

There will be exemptions to the travel restrictions for people entering to supply and deliver essential services and Governments are working hard to make sure these essential services and supplies will continue to remote areas.

People already in remote communities should stay there unless it is essential to leave for medical treatment. 

Information relevant to Indigenous communities is being posted on and

More information about COVID-19 is available through