Cherbourg Aboriginal Shire Council

Minutes – Post Election Meeting

Held 20 March 2024

MINUTES

POST ELECTION MEETING

HELD 20 MARCH 2024

<u>Attendance</u>

Mayor Bruce Simpson Cr Gordon Wragge Cr Tom Langton Cr Mayor Carla Fisher Cr Daniel Weazel

Apologies: Nil

Officers: CEO - Zala

Minute Taker - Eileen Jacobs Advisor - Brett De Chastel

Visitors: Uncle John Stanley, Ada Simpson, Sandra Morgan, Jeanette Brown, Leila

Davidson, Irene Purcell, Neil Simpson, Warren Collins, Elizabeth Conlon, Antonia Jacobs, Sam Murray, Sean Nicholson, Matt Bock, Eric Law, Principal

Boyd McLoud.

Uncle John Stanley opened proceedings with a prayer.

Cr Daniel Weazel performed the welcome to country

10.00am Meeting Commenced

CEO - Welcomed new Councillors & Visitors

Declaration of Office

Mayor and Councillors each undertook their Declaration of Office.

Mayor Bruce Simpson

- undertook his Declaration of Office

Minutes Council Meeting Held on 20 March 2024

Mayors Init. -----

10.30am Visitors Left

Meeting Adjourned for morning tea

11.00am Meeting Recommenced

Deputy Mayor Position

Council is required to appoint a Deputy Mayor from the Councillors. Nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor were called for.

Nominations for position of Deputy Mayor

- Cr Gordon Wragge Nominated by Cr Daniel Weazel
- Cr Tom Langton Nominated himself
- Cr Carla Fisher Nominated herself

Withdrawal of Nomination

• Cr Tom Langton withdrew his nomination for the position of Deputy Mayor

Councillors Voted for the Position of Deputy Mayor

- Cr Gordon Wragge (2 Votes) Cr Gordon Wragge Cr Daniel Weazel
- Cr Carla Fisher (3 Votes) Cr Carla Fisher
 Mayor Bruce Simpson
 Cr Tom Langton

Cr Carla Fisher was elected as Deputy Mayor of the Cherbourg Aboriginal Shire Council by 3-2 Votes.

Resolution

Council resolves to appoint Cr Carla Fisher to the position of Deputy Mayor of the Cherbourg Aboriginal Shire Council.

Moved: Cr Tom Langton Seconded: Cr Daniel Weazel

Motion No. 2493 Carried Council Voted Unanimously

Remuneration

Council Remuneration has been set by the Remuneration Tribunal.

Minutes Council Meeting Held on 20 March 2024

Mayors Init. -----

Council Meeting Dates

2024 Council Meeting Dates were presented for Council endorsement.

Resolution

Cherbourg Aboriginal Shire Council resolves that the 2024 Council Meeting Dates be endorsed.

Moved: Deputy Mayor Carla Fisher

Seconded: Cr Tom Langton

Motion No. 2494 Carried Council Voted Unanimously

Local Disaster Management Group

CEO advised that the Mayor and Deputy Mayor usually become Chairperson & Deputy Chairperson of the Cherbourg Local Disaster Management Group.

Resolution

Cherbourg Aboriginal Shire Council resolve to appoint;

- 1. Mayor Bruce Simpson to Chairperson of the Cherbourg Local Disaster Management Group
- 2. Deputy Mayor Carla Fisher to Deputy Chairperson of the Cherbourg Local Disaster Management Group

Moved: Cr Daniel Weazel Seconded: Cr Gordon Wragge

Motion No. 2495 Carried Council Voted Unanimously

Mayor called for the meeting to be closed at 12.10pm

Resolution

Cherbourg Aboriginal Shire Council resolves that the Post Election Meeting held on 15 April 2024 be closed at 12.10pm

Moved: Deputy Mayor Carla Fisher

Seconded: Cr Tom Langton

Motion No. 2496 Carried Council Voted Unanimously

Minutes Council Meeting Held on 20 March 2024

Mayors Init. -----